Edna Reindel Mural
“Experimenting with the First Model of the Cotton Gin” was a mural painted by Edna Reindel in 1939 for the Works Progress Administration (WPA). The mural depicts Eli Whitney consulting his plans while he instructs workers on the operation of the cotton gin. Whitney’s invention hugely increased the volume of cotton processed and made the cultivation of cotton extremely lucrative for the American South. Known as one of America’s foremost painters and sculptors, Reindel completed several murals between 1937 and 1942. The mural is located in the annex of the Emanuel County Courthouse and can be viewed during regular Courthouse hours, Mon-Fri., 8am to 5pm. For more information on this mural contact (478) 237-5630
Edenfield Inn Murals
The Edenfield Inn is home to seven unique wall murals painted for Swainsboro during the 1930’s. Depicting the historic post-civil war south, the content of these huge paintings range from depictions of the Pony Express to Monticello and include a wide variety of cultures unique to American Society. Although the artist is currently unknown, the wall murals are known to have been painted during the Works Progress Administration. The murals extend throughout the house and can be seen from the front to the sunroom. The Edenfield Inn murals are located at 426 West Church Street in Swainsboro. For more information please contact June at (478) 237-3007.
City Hall Mural
The City Hall Mural is one of Swainsboro’s most unique pieces of public artwork. Commissioned in the early 1900’s, the mural depicts six scenes familiar to Emanuel County created by an artist from Atlanta, GA. The mural’s subject matter includes harvesting sap for turpentine, industrial scenes, and scenes of nature and agriculture. The mural is literally sculpted into a concrete wall in the lobby area of City Hall. For more information on the City Hall Mural please contact (478) 237-7025 or visit Monday-Friday, 9am-4:30pm at 101 West Main Street.
Stewart’s Jewelers Mural
The Stewart’s Jewelers Mural is located on the corner of North Green Street and Pine Street. Originally painted in the 1980’s, the mural depicts a couple opening up gifts “for every occasion. Stewart’s Jewelers opened its doors in 1949 and has the distinction of being one of Swainsboro’s oldest family owned businesses. The mural is a celebration of that history and the businesses significant role in the downtown district. For more information on the Stewart’s Jeweler Mural please call (478) 237-7241.
Celebrate the Arts Mural
Located in the heart of downtown, the Celebrate the Arts Mural depicts a variety of visual and performing arts emerging in Swainsboro. Created in 2006 in conjunction with the Arts Emanuel Festival by the Emanuel Artists Guild, the mural is the first of several contemporary public works projects being implemented for downtown Swainsboro. Designed by painters Jean Gray Drake and Neil Kalmanson, the Celebrate the Arts Mural showcases the talents and styles of over five local and regional painters. The mural also relied heavily on public participation with four separate mandalas made up of a hundred community members hand prints. The first hand print made on the mural was by Mayor Charles Schwabe. The Celebrate the Arts Mural is located on Green Street between West Main Street and Moring Street.
Swainsboro is rich with history. The following list of buildings, homes, and structures are a must-see for those interested in both history and architecture. Buildings with a star beside them are private residences, so please respect the owner’s privacy during your Historic Building Tour of Swainsboro.
The Coleman House is a picturesque Victorian era mansion. It is an example of an eclectic combination of details from two popular national styles, the Queen Anne and Neoclassical Revival, both commonly used in Georgia during the early 20th Century. Originally built between 1900 and 1904, the Coleman House is also significant as the first house in Emanuel County to have indoor plumbing and electricity. The Coleman House serves as a restaurant and bed and breakfast. The Coleman House is located at 323 North Main Street.
Built in 1895, Edenfield House Inn is named for H.C. Edenfield, wealthy landowner and local bank president, whose family lived there from 1920-1978. Restored in 1984 by then-Mayor Jim Buckley and wife Imogene, it became the Edenfield House Inn and welcomed the first guest in 1985. The Edenfield House Inn features seven unique wall murals painted for Swainsboro during the 1930’s. The Edenfield Inn is located at 426 West Church Street in Swainsboro.
* George L. Smith House
George L. Smith, II was one of Emanuel County’s most influential leaders. As a member of the Georgia House of Representatives for 29 years and speaker of that body for 11 years, George L. Smith served the state and his county with great honor and passion. Built between 1938 and 1942, the house was George L. Smith’s main residence until his death in 1973. The house remains in the Smith family and is located at 625 North Main Street.
The Old Dixie Theater
Built in 1933 by William and Fannie Mae Karrh, The Dixie Theater was Swainsboro’s second movie theater. This one screen theater contained lower level and balcony seating and played new movies seven days a week until the 1970’s. Still owned by the Karrh family, the Dixie Theater has since been converted into an antique mall. The building still boasts its original façade and is a definite “Must-See” on your tour of historic buildings in Swainsboro. You can visit the location of the Dixie Theater at 107 North Green Street.
The City Hall Building was built in 1908 at the crossroads of Highway 80 and US 1 in downtown Swainsboro. Originally built as Citizens Bank, the building still contains two large safes and original artwork contracted in the 1930’s. The building was converted into City Hall in the 1971 and now houses the Mayor’s Office, the Building Department, Downtown Development, and the City Administrator’s office. During the buildings conversion, the main entrance was changed from the Southwest corner to its current position on West Main Street. The City Hall Building is located at 101 West Main Street and is open Monday-Friday, 9am-4:30pm.
Coca Cola Bottling Plant
Swainsboro’s second Bottling Plant was built in 1936 to serve four counties in Georgia. The North Main Street Plant bottled Coke and Ginger Ale as Coca Cola was emerging as one of the most popular sodas in America. The facility was managed by C.E. Reed and included Swainsboro’s first elevator, and community meeting rooms that were used by the Kiwanis Club and local bridge clubs. Each year, Mr. Reed oversaw a BBQ for the City of Swainsboro and in the late 1930’s, Mrs. Margaret Mitchell, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Gone with the Wind, was in attendance. The most popular feature of these annual BBQ’s was the “All you can drink Coca Cola.” The Coca Cola Plant is located at 436 North Main Street.
* Old Nora Coleman House
Church Street’s Nora Coleman House was built in the early 1900’s and features a grandiose design that epitomizes neo classical architecture. After Ms. Coleman’s death, the house was kept in family and owned by William Henry Flanders and Mattie Moring Mitchell Flanders. The Nora Coleman House of the 1930’s featured a sleeping porch with a covered well, an impressive library, double doors on and a Grecian mural by Mr. Dwoskin of Brown Decorating Company. The house is currently a private residence and is still owned by the extended family of Nora Coleman. The house is located at 416 West Church Street.
Built in the early 1900’s, the Lodge Building is believed to be Swainsboro’s second City Hall. The building housed the City’s main offices downstairs including the City Jail, Police Station, and a Fire Station. Until 1971, the upstairs was used by local Masonic Lodge. With the purchase of the old Citizen’s Bank Building by the City of Swainsboro, City Hall was relocated to 101 West Main Street and the Lodge Building was sold to Masonic Lodge #244 and renovated in 1973. The Lodge Building is located at 200 West Main Street.
* Old Frank Mitchell House
Built around the beginning of the 20th Century (before 1903), the Old Frank Mitchell house was owned by Judge Frank Mitchell and Luck Coleman Mitchell. The house remained in the Mitchell family until Mrs. Mitchell’s death in 1957. The Old Frank Mitchell House once included thirty acres of land, a barn, and smokehouse. The house once included intricate murals, a parlor, sliding oak doors and a large dining room. Mrs. Mitchell used the thirty acres attached to the house to raise and make everything she ate. Mrs. Mitchell was known in the community for making her own butter which is she sold at the local Sanitary Market. The Old Frank Mitchell House is located at 209 East Pine Street.