City Council

Swainsboro’s City Council consists of six elected officials. The Council functions as a parliamentary-style legislative body proposing bills, holding votes, and passing laws to help govern the city.

The Mayor of Swainsboro serves as the chairman of the council and acts as a voting member when there is a tie. One council member is elected mayor pro tem. The mayor pro tem serves as acting mayor in the absence of the mayor.


The mission of the elected officials of the City of Swainsboro is to provide quality public services in partnership with its citizens, businesses, schools, and other governmental agencies and act as good stewards of the resources entrusted to their care.

Council Members

Julian Sconyers
Johnny Ray Stafford
District 1 
 Councilperson DJ Davis III
District 2
 Councilperson Julian Sconyers

District 3
 Councilperson Johnny Ray Stafford

Bobbie Collins
John E. Parker

District 4
 Councilperson Bobbie Collins

District 5
 Councilperson John E. Parker

District 6
 Councilperson Gregory Quarterman